Santiago

After getting my Compostela and going to the pilgrims Maas I decided that it was a bit early for lunch. I started to do some of the things that were on my list. I think that I told you all that there is always a chance of rain in Galicia. I knew that the chance was there buy did I bring LOUSINPAC or MAC. Me no way it was only a chance. I have never made money on betting even it the odds were totally in my favour. Well it did rain as Tommy Cooper would have said “not  a lot” but it did. It was a drizzle. 

Met Oleg he is away to finistere today. Anna from Latvia is on her way there by bus as it is here birthday. Raffo is in Santiago today and will go to Muxia and Finistere by bus. Paul and Gettraud were one at first light to Finistere by foot three more days walking for them. I’m not sure about any of the others. 

Santiago is a city that teems with people. I actually had forgotten how many but the Holy Year has definitely increased the numbers here. It is a very vibrant city and yesterday a lot of the main square was taken up with youth activities. There is that air about the place and noise and excitement and just a big buzz. 

A group in traditional costume . They were just walking along and decided to start dancing to their own musicians

There appears to be a more openness about the less well off. There are many more of them around the place and I woul say more than two years ago. 

There is also a far greater police presence around the Cathedral and on streets. I find it a bit disconcerting all the automatic weapons. 

The peregrino becomes the tourist. 

Today  I went through the Puerta Santa – one of the six Holy Doors opened in the world this year. This year being a year of Mercy as per Pope Francis. Mass at twelve was the pilgrims mass and there a main celebrant and many concelebrants. Mass concluded with the ceremony of the Botafumeiro. It was something else. 

The main square that I mentioned earlier and being full of youth activities was cleared and this morning it was filled with vintage cars.

 

Fundraising for MS Ireland through Everyday Hero

Leave a comment